View Poll Results: McAffe or Norton

Voters
18. You may not vote on this poll
  • McAffe

    2 11.11%
  • Norton

    9 50.00%
  • Neither

    7 38.89%
  • What?!?!

    0 0%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: McAffe or Norton

  1. #1
    Senior Member xRubyWeaponx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada, North America, The World
    Posts
    148

    Default McAffe or Norton

    Which do u prefer?

  2. #2
    Forum Ancient CheshireCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tree, Wonderland
    Posts
    1,728

    Default

    Norton. Mcafee takes longer to load, and it loads more extra crap. It scans too slow for me as well, and its not updated as frequently.

  3. #3
    Unofficial Legend
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    1,488

    Default

    I agree, norton is much better, i used to use mcafee, big suxorz :rollseyes:

  4. #4
    The Erratic Assassin
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Kill Devil Hills, NC
    Posts
    191

    Default

    what about symantec? i get that through school. lifetime subscription.

  5. #5

    Default

    I thought Symantec was the company that owns Norton.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TooMuchProzac!
    I thought Symantec was the company that owns Norton.
    correct

    i would no doubt choose Norton's over McAffe any day, symantec to really quick to patch and come out virus removal tools

  7. #7

    Default

    Neither.

    Kaspersky > All

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by etanol
    Neither.

    Kaspersky > All
    agreed, even the free AVG is better than mcaffe and norton's

  9. #9
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Austin Texas
    Posts
    1,367

    Default

    Is Kaspersky expensive?

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HEYman
    Is Kaspersky expensive?
    http://www.kaspersky.com/store
    http://www.kaspersky.com/buyoffline

    The real-time protection in Kaspersky is awesome, though it might slow your system down a lot if you're running it on an older computer.

    Try the trial version out, or the online scanner. With it you can scan individual files under the size of 1 MB.

    http://www.kaspersky.com/scanforvirus

  11. #11
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Austin Texas
    Posts
    1,367

    Default

    Ahhhh so thats how you tell us if they have viruses or not


    Personal Products

    Our home user products are available for immediate downloading.


  12. #12
    Pervert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    mcafee updates fast for me, i got 4 in one day once.

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HEYman
    Ahhhh so thats how you tell us if they have viruses or not


    Personal Products

    Our home user products are available for immediate downloading.
    The first one. You might want to take the real-time protection off at first, it might lag your system a lot.

  14. #14
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Austin Texas
    Posts
    1,367

    Default

    thanks

  15. #15
    ***** Slave Nubli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    6,706

    Default

    It's made by Russians :P

  16. #16
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Austin Texas
    Posts
    1,367

    Default

    omfg etanol, dude i downloaded started scanning, noticed that my internet was running at about half the speed, was fine with it because you told me it would lag me, after about 10 minutes, it was at 0% i looked and it said expected finish is 8/20/04...A ****ing month..I then tried to exit, my computer froze and i restarted, this happened about 4 times because of that stupid program, i finaly got on and it took about 10 minutes for kasparky(or whatever that ****ing thing is called) to load, i finally checked off "run at my startup" so now i restarted my computer and am sitting now right here really ****ing pissed..How the hell do you use that thing?

  17. #17
    Pervert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    hahaha sorry that just made me crack up.

  18. #18

    Default

    See where it says "Real-Time Protection is enabled/disabled."? You should disable it, if your computer can't handle it, it uses a lot of resources.

  19. #19
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Austin Texas
    Posts
    1,367

    Default

    Will the virus check run faster then a month after i disable it?

  20. #20

    Default

    If you're using real-time protection it's basicly scanning everything you do, so you're really safe, but of course it uses a lot of resources. So take it off, it's not that vital.

    And the scanning isn't faster than it's with others, since Kaspersky checks some things the others don't, but your computer will run a lot smoother.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •